Master List: Bramble The Mountain King

I thought about making a brief review of sorts at the beginning of this post but I honestly don’t know what to say other than I loved almost everything about this game?

Bramble: The Mountain King tells of two siblings, Olle and Lillemor. One night, Olle wakes up from a nightmare after his mother’s frightening bedtime story. He finds his sister gone and goes to look for her in the nearby forest. …..is it nearby if they basically live in the forest?

As he falls through the roof of a decrepit house, he stumbles on a statue of Tuva who is holding a luminous stone.

When he eventually finds his sister on top of a summit, singing into the night, they play with the stone for a bit and then fall through the ruins to a fairy tale forest. They explore around until Lollimor gets captured by a troll and Olle sets out to save his sister.

This game was basically everything I’ve wanted in a story and what I want to do in a story. I have a fondness for well-written stories about siblings because I think they’re kind of rare and I want to do fairytalesque horror or horroresque fairytales myself.

This is a very narrative-based game and I loved the narrative so I don’t really have much to say about the gameplay. It was intuitive and easy aside from a few dark spots and careless mistakes. I liked the fixed camera angles because they create a true cinematic experience, and I don’t really understand why people have such hostility to fixed camera.

And I guess that’s it? (I just bet I’ll come up with all sorts of things to add and edit right after posting this, ha ha.)

Chapter 1 – Children’s Room
Chapter 2 – Nearby Forest
Chapter 3 – Gnome Forest
Chapter 4 – The Summit Pt. 1
Chapter 5 – Troll Forest
Chapter 6 – Naecken’s Pond & Chapter 7 – Tuva Pt. 1
Chapter 8 – The Summit Pt. 2
Chapter 9 – Tuva Pt. 2
Chapter 10 – The Swamp
Chapter 11 – The Library
Chapter 12 – Skogsrå’s Grove
Chapter 13 – Plague Village
Chapter 14 – Pesta’s Nightmare
Chapter 15 – The Summit Pt. 3
Chapter 16 – The Halls of the Mountain King
Chapter 17 – Epilogue

I messed up with Chapters Six and Seven which is why they’re together. It looks awful but I guess it can’t be helped.

I really hope their next game is going to be a horror fairy tale too. ❤

Leave a comment